HELLO???? Is this thing on??

Elephant in the room: It has been 3 months since I have written something. I am a terrible person and I apologize.

Oh my goodness! What have I done with the last 3 months??? That is a little scary to think about. A quarter of a year gone…and I don’t know where it went! Ok, I am calming down now and thinking about what is on my heart and what the new year will bring at Cents of Survival and my life in general. I am excited and here’s to 2015!

Speaking of 2015, I have never been one for New Year’s Resolutions, but I love the idea of goal setting. Am I good at it? No. In fact, that could be a great goal to start with…”Be better at setting goals!” By now, you are well aware of one of the biggest goals in our life right now, getting out of debt. That goal is incredibly simple, yet horrifyingly broad. I admit, I get lost in the broad or undefined. Our debt is large and daunting. When I look at those numbers I get lost in how long it will take and I have to fight the feeling of ‘this is never going to happen’. This is a debilitating and fruitless mindset!

How does one change that mindset? The same way you eat an elephant. One bite at a time. The best way I know how to take a ‘bite’, is a budget. Once a month, every month. Give each dollar, every dollar, a name and a job. You make your money WORK. Tell it what to do, not the other way around. When you create a budget, assign every dollar AND stick to it, you are controlling your destiny. That is how you eat your elephant.

New Year’s Resolutions have a gigantic failure rate. Need proof? Step into a gym on January 3rd, then go check it out, at the same time, on February 3rd. Notice anything??? A lot more machines open and begging for a user. Why do these resolutions fail? I believe it is a lack of a clear goal. Much like my goal to get out of debt, a goal of losing weight is vague and vacant. If one set out, at the beginning of each month, to lose 3 pounds that month by scheduling their workouts and meals, do you think they would have a greater chance at success? I do! Your budget works the same way! You may not be able to lose 50 pounds in a month, nor may you be able to pay off $10,000 in debt in a month. However, you can be sure not to add debt that month. For some, that is a first step, the first victory in your path to debt freedom! Rejoice in it. There have been more than a few months in the Bossio budget that success, that month, was simply not adding debt. Rejoice in that! Rejoice, then plan harder for next month.

Start now, yes, a week into January! Plan to pay off Christmas this month if need be. Start thinking about NEXT Christmas. Let’s do this! Tackle those goals with small, attainable, planned out steps! We can do this, will you do it with me?? Let’s GO!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

